Bl. Bernardo de Hoyos, SJ (1711-1735)

+AMDG+

It seems that the Society of Jesus is on its way toward a fourth “boy saint.”  Fr. Bernardo de Hoyos, SJ, who died at the age of 24 and is considered the first apostle of the Sacred Heart of Jesus in Spain, will join the ranks of St. Aloysius Gonzaga, St. Stanislaus Kostka, and St. John Berchmanns, all of whom achieved notable holiness while still in Jesuit formation (Bernardo was completing tertianship, the final stage of Jesuit formation, when he died).  The Spanish Jesuit will be beatified in Vallodolid on April 18, 2010.  The link will bring you to a letter of Fr Adolfo Nicolas, SJ, describing his life and holiness.

Please pray for Jesuits in formation through Bernardo’s intercession …

10 Responses to Bl. Bernardo de Hoyos, SJ (1711-1735)

  1. Marc says:

    I was wondering if there is any movement on the Jesuit from El Paso, Fr. Richard Thomas, who many consider a saint? Have you ever heard of him?

  2. Gregory Benedict says:

    Months ago, a stranger gave me this prayer at Mass on a laminated card that I carry in my wallet, I pray it often…….

    O Jesus, I pray for Your faithful and fervent priests; for Your unfaithful and tepid priests; for Your priests laboring at home or abroad in distant mission fields; for Your tempted priests; for Your lonely and desolate priests; for Your young priests; for Your dying priests; for the souls of Your priests in Purgatory.

    But above all, I recommend to You the priests dearest to me; the priest who baptized me; the priests who absolved me from my sins; the priest at whose Masses I assisted and who gave me Your Body and Blood in Holy Communion; all the priest who taught and instructed me; all the priests to whom I am indebted in any other way.

    O Jesus, keep them all close to your heart, and Bless them abundantly in time and in eternity. Amen.

  3. Henry says:

    Nathan,

    I definitely do (and will continue to do so) and I ask that all of you remember me in your prayers.

    Pax,

    Henry

  4. Father Joseph LeBlanc says:

    It is always good to hear about the beatification of young men and women. It demonstrates to our young people that all of us are called to “holiness”, our first vocation, and that can be lived out through many callings. All our young men in formation need our prayers; priest in tertianships need our prayers, and more, our priests out in ministry need our prayers and now through the intercession of Blessed Bernardo, we can ask that these petitions and prayers be presented to the Lord God.

  5. VICTOR BADILLO SJ says:

    WHERE IS THE LINK TO FR GENERAL’S LETTER ON THE LIFE AND HOLINESS OF BERNARDO.

  6. Fr. Eugene Carrella says:

    Hello Father, I am a Catholic priest in the Archdiocese of New York. Is it possible to obtain a first class relic with Bl. Bernardo de Hoyos?

    • Aaron Pidel, SJ says:

      I’ll bet it is, but I can’t tell you how just yet. I imagine it would require writing to the Jesuit postulator in Rome… I’ll try to find out more.

  7. Fr. Eugene Carrella says:

    Dear Fr. Aaron, I thank you for whatever help you can give me to obtain this holy relic. Fr. Eugene

  8. AUDREY says:

    el sagrado corzones de jesus y maria siempre fe carinos AD.

Leave a comment