Reservation Story

It has been a while, dear readers, since I posted anything new here.  Running three parishes in American’s second poorest county has kept me busy, to say the least.  But you will be happy to know, I hope, that the Church here is growing once again — Mass attendance up by 40% over this time last year, sacramental prep programs expanded, a good number of people in RCIA, and a great shot of energy and joy last week with the canonization of Saint Kateri Tekakwitha.  I had a little talk with Kateri, back when she was still just a Blessed, and I think she’ll be helping us out here in the future.  In fact, I think she may have pulled a few strings for us already this week.

I hope to write a bit more about our little (but growing) Lakota church here in the near future, but first I thought I’d share something I wrote a while back, after my first visit to Rosebud, which has now finally appeared in print in the very fine Christian literary journal Relief.  I’d recommend a look at Relief even if they hadn’t published my story, and they’re available on Kindle.

I’d also recommend liking St. Francis Mission on Facebook to see a few more pictures of all that’s been going on here, especially our celebrations for St. Kateri.
AL, SJ

One Response to Reservation Story

  1. Qualis Rex says:

    Salve Anton! And welcome back. I haven’t visited this blog in months either, as I have also been heads-down/traveling (opposite end of the globe tho). Such good news to hear about your success on the reservation! You are truly doing God’s work there, and the results absolutely reflect this. As Our Lord said, “By their fruits shall they be known”. You really did make the right choice in life by answeing your vocation. I don’t think there is any other way to prove this.

    God bless you now and always!!!

Leave a Reply

