Growing Into the Faith

1.   University of Washington, Freshman

2.  Atheist

3.  Yes, regardless of my religious choices.

5.  I think Jesuit did a great job as educating in the faith and I’ve always thought that if I were to go into the religious life I would become a Jesuit. (Not sure if this part of the question applies to me but I’ll answer anyway).  I think that one thing that I always sorta wished Jesuit did was give options to which religious class to take. for me, (I was raised Catholic but have sorta been apathetic towards religion since middle school). I always sorta wished i could take a course in which I got to learn about the spirituality of other religions or a “christianity from the eyes of Islam/Buddhism/etc.” class. Looking back, all the religion classes really just blurred into one “learn about jesus class” where what I learned from one class could sorta just be transcribed into another class.

***

I go to the University of Miami and I am a freshman. I pray at least a couple times a week but I do not go to regular mass unfortunately; however, I’d like to, considering that there is a Catholic Church in walking distance from the campus. I am also a member of UCatholic, the university’s Catholic organization.

Jesuit did a good job of preparing me for a life of faith outside of Jesuit. I have stayed about the same in terms of commitment. I feel since leaving Jesuit I’ve grown up a lot in my faith. Possibly read more (obviously not for your class) but in other classes, read more than just textbooks but scholarly writers, this would help for writing papers especially being able to cite authors like de Chardin and St Augustine. Hope all is well, God bless!

***

You’re more than welcome to use my name- I’m very proud to be a Christian and to show others that I am!

I go to LSU, and I am beginning my sophomore year.

I feel like there are many temptations in the college life that are easy to give in to, but I have tried in earnest to resist these because I feel that I have a well-formed idea of what is right and wrong. However, I feel like it’s easier to justify doing these things sometimes when you see so many others around you doing it, which is why I feel it’s important to surround yourself around a good crowd.

I feel like I have become more mature in my faith because, like I said earlier, it’s harder to resist temptation when so many others are giving in, and I think that because I have been able to resist in that atmosphere, that I have grown.

I think that many who fall away from the faith do so because of the people they associate with. I think if Jesuit stressed the importance of who you associate with as having a major impact on who you are and how it could change you, that guys would be able to recognize this later on when they encounter new people and a new life in college.

***

1. Louisiana State University, Junior

2. My current faith life involves weekly prayer. It does not consist of regular attendance at Mass on Sundays.

3. Jesuit, as an academic institution, did as much as it could to prepare me on faith from a scholastic and educational standpoint. “Jesuit,” referring to the staff and their interaction with the student body, provided a sound basis of morals. In addition, the staff fostered an environment conducive for one’s spiritual growth.

4. Through personal events, my faith life has become less committed since leaving Jesuit (though I would expect a similar decrease in commitment probable if I was still attending Jesuit).

5. Though my faith life has become less committed, I believe that I have experienced an increased capacity to properly conduct personal reflections. Additionally, through the guidance provided to me by the staff at Jesuit, I have been able to evolve my moral compass significantly over the last 2 years.

6. Personally, I felt that at time some religion classes increased my desire to deepen my faith while others did little to foster an active faith life. For example, I felt that classes like Church History, while important from an academic standpoint, shifted attention from developing one’s faith towards an environment similar to that of American History. Additionally, I felt that Morality had a double-edge sword. While this class exhibited dialogue that encourages deep thought and reflection, at times conflicting viewpoints were addressed as misunderstandings without trying to address the root cause as to why the two parties differed on their viewpoints. I feel that the further analysis to the root cause of the discrepancies would build a stronger faith life than simply the acknowledgement of conflicting ideologies.

Leave a Reply

